State Preeminent Science and Technology Award are granted to the following scientific and technical workers:

(1) major breakthroughs in contemporary scientific or technological frontiers that have outstanding achievements in the development of science and technology.

(2) created huge economic or social benefits through scientific and technological innovations, achievements and high-tech industries.

No more than two recipients of the award per year.